Book review – All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater

All the Crooked SaintsAll the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was an advance reader copy provided by the publisher. Thank you very much to Scholastic Press for sending me this ARC and giving me a chance to review this book before it is released October 10, 2017.

5 stars.

This is a book written for, perhaps marketed to, Young Adults, age 13-18. I think an advanced younger reader would find it compelling and there is much here to delight adults.

I’ve been sitting on writing this review because I’m not sure the words I can find properly express my feelings about this book and I don’t want to be imprecise. On the other hand, I haven’t wanted to start anything new until I wrote about this, and that’s not fair to the next two ARC’s that have been sitting, waiting to be read and reviewed.

This is a magical book. The storytelling, the narrative, the characters, the situation, the fable, are all wonderful and unique to anything I’ve read. Usually, when I read a book I jot down a few notes, here I have more than three times what I would normally write.

Page 140: Excellent, intelligent writing, the kind I like to be in a quiet room with the ringer off. You can never tell which small detail (of which there are multitudes), may be important later in the book. The story, so far, is fantastical and charming. Each character or history, is examined for motive and possible intent, and in the next paragraph, the plot has moved on.

Page 180: This is that special kind of book I imagine going into my room and shutting the world out. Every phrase seems to carry meaning and needs to be considered amongst the whole. I am the type to carry a book with me at all times, unfortunately, this is not that kind of book for me: more often than not, I feel like I have to put the book away or I might miss something in the background noise. Because of this, it’s taken me much longer than it should to read and the periods I do can feel disjointed. I have a strong desire to reread this cover to cover once I’m done.

Quote from page 185: “By relegating the things we fear and don’t understand to religion, and the things we understand and control to science, we rob science of its artistry and religion of its mutability.”

Final thought: This book has something for everyone and is truly magical.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

