Doctors agree Lyme disease patients at-risk for suicide are under-recognized group – Daniel Cameron MD

Expanded from the original article by Dr Robert Bransfield written earlier this year.

Finally, this epidemic within a pandemic is being recognized. 

The first few years of my illness, my cats, my mom, and my faith (in different orders and combinations), got me through the rough patches. For a time I also belonged to an online Lyme group devoted to patients who were having suicidal thoughts (I’ve never known anyone admit to being homicidal). There were nights I’ve stayed up late talking to someone in crisis and times I had to tune others out to take care of myself.

I’ve lost two Facebook friends to suicide. I can’t imagine what they experienced that tipped them over the edge. It’s time the suffering this disease causes is noticed and taken seriously.
http://danielcameronmd.com/doctors-agree-lyme-disease-patients-risk-suicide-recognized-group/

Leave a Reply

